Tank choices

Special section for newcomers to the world of Marine. There are no stupid questions.

Tank choices

Postby djlittle on 08 Oct 2018 22:15

Hi guys, I'm new here so please forgive me if I ask any stupid questions lol, anyhow I've been keeping freshwater fish for over 10 years and done most things from simple setup to fully planted co2 tanks. I've just moved house and I have the perfect spot for a new tank.

I've decided to take the plunge and try marine fish. Think it will be a fowlr tank and intend to add some soft corals. I know this will be a long term project but I think I can make it work. I will be converting my old 4ft tank into a sump too.

Anyhow I've been pricing up custom tanks by a supplier in Dublin, not sure if I can mention names so I'll not ATM. They were really helpfully and given me the following prices:

1980x610x810 high, optiwhite front and ext weir using 19mm glass - €2540

1980x610x700 high, optiwhite front and ext weir using 15mm glass - €1770

1980x610x610 height, optiwhite front and ext weir using 12mm glass - €1070

I know I can get the most expensive tank for half the price from the mainland uk as they use 12mm glass but I would be worried if it came scratched it would end up more of a headache as the cost of shipping is about €300. At least I can see the tank in Dublin and make sure it's perfect before I collect it. The guys in the shop said that these are the max heights for each thickness of glass they have to use for insurance purposes and the vast difference in price is in the thickness of the glass.

Now my delima, the 810 high tank is out as i can't justify the price. So should I buy the second tank and then all the equipment or would I be safer buying the third tank and the €700 saving would be a good start in getting the equipment I need, is 90mm in height really gonna make that much difference?

Logically I think going with the third tank is best but I don't wanna regret it down the line
djlittle
Fry
Fry